My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic

My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic


Princess Celestia sends her star pupil, the bookish unicorn Twilight Sparkle, to Ponyville to improve her socialization skills. Twilight quickly makes five new four-legged friends: Applejack, Rainbow Dash, Pinkie Pie, Fluttershy and Rarity. Each instilled with the respective spirits of magic, honesty, loyalty, laughter, kindness and generosity, the animals learn that by working together they can achieve the most important element of all: harmony. That ultimate underlying message may sound corny as all get-out, but the snappy dialogue and expressive animation make the treacle surprisingly palatable.

Queer Plotline Timeline

Lyra Heartstings and Sweetie Drops (aka Bon Bon) are regular recurring characters through the series. They have a few episodes where they are seen interacting (like sharing a soda, etc), and in the final episode their wedding announcement is seen in the paper.

Notable Queer-Centric Episodes

  • Season 5, Episode 8 “Slice of Life” – Sweetie Drops is revealed to have been a secret agent, and her alias of Bon Bon was to escape that life.
  • Season 9, Episode 12 “The Last Crusade” – Aunt Holiday and Aunt Lofty help save Ponyville.
  • Season 9, Episode 19 “Dragon Dropped” – Lyra and Sweetie propose to each other.
  • Season 9, Episode 26 “The Last Problem” – Lyra and Sweetie get married.


There are 4 queer characters listed for this show; none are dead.

Recurring (2)

Guests (2)

This page was last edited on September 21st, 2020.
%d bloggers like this: