The fictional series was inspired by the historical figure of Spartacus, a Thracian gladiator who from 73 to 71 BCE led a major slave uprising against the Roman Republic departing from Capua.

When the lead actor was diagnosed with cancer, they made a prequel mini-series called Spartacus: Gods of the Arena. Sadly, he died and they went on with season two, recasting him. The show was incredibly bloody and gory, filled with sex workers and the like. There’s a lot of background rape.

Queer Plotline Timeline

  • Season One – Blood and Sand: The first series of the Spartacus set, it’s focused on the events of Spartacus’ obscure early life leading up to the beginning of historical records.
  • Season Two – Vengeance: After the bloody escape from the House of Batiatus that concluded the previous season, the gladiator rebellion begins to strike fear into the heart of the Roman Republic. In the finale, Lucretia turns on Ilithyia and kills her servants as she prepares to give birth to her child; once the child is born, Lucretia claims it as her and Quintus’ son. She then commits suicide by falling off a cliff, taking the baby with her.
  • Season Three – War of the Damned: The third and final installment of the series… It ends badly, but there is one lesbian who seems to get out alive!


There are 3 queer characters listed for this show; 2 are dead.

Regulars (2)

Recurring (1)

This page was last edited on November 4th, 2017.
%d bloggers like this: