Juana Inés

Juana Inés


This series dramatizes the life of Juana Inés de la Cruz, a renowned writer, nun and influential political figure in 17th-century Mexico.

The story is based on the life of Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz as she travels from her uncle’s home to the court of the viceroy of New Spain to a convent run by Carmelite Nuns. It shows Juana’s struggles as she tries to find a safe haven in order to pursue her intellectual development as a woman with a damaging past. She faces harsh opposition from the leaders of the Catholic Church and the Spanish Inquisition who are horrified by Juana’s intelligence and her desire for knowledge as a woman.

The story tries to explain some of the mystery surrounding the life of Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz: her uncertain relationship with the church hierarchy, the nature of her affections, and the reason for her sudden, seemingly self-imposed silence.


There are 3 queer characters listed for this show; none are dead.

Regulars (2)

Recurring (1)

This page was last edited on July 4th, 2021.
%d bloggers like this: