Shameless (US)

Shameless (US)


An American comedy-drama series adapted by John Wells based upon the British series of the same name. It centers around the Gallaghers, a dysfunctional family set in Chicago’s Canaryville neighborhood on the South Side.

Queer Plotline Timeline

Towards the end of season 1 we meet Frank’s wife, Monica and her girlfriend Roberta. In season 6 & 7 Veronica, Svetlana and Kevin have a polyamorous relationship. In season 7 Ian starts dating Trevor, a charming trans activist. They break up at the end of season 7 after Ian runs off with his ex. At the beginning of season 8 the show introduces Nessa, a cute lesbian tenant of Fiona’s. Fiona and Nessa become friends. In season 9 Debbie meets a lesbian welder named Alex and they have a brief relationship.

Notable Queer-Centric Episodes

  • Season 1, Episode 9 "But At Last Came a Knock" - Frank has come into some settlement money, but he needs his wife Monica to sign the paperwork. Frank finds Monica at a supermarket with her girlfriend Roberta.
  • Season 6, Episode 9 "A Yurt of One's Own" - Veronica decides to marry Svetlana so she can get her green card. Kevin is not happy with her decision.
  • Season 6, Episode 10 "Paradise Lost" - Veronica and Svetlana get married without Kevin's consent.
  • Season 6, Episode 11 "Sleep No More" - Veronica and Svetlana's Green Card marriage turns into an actual relationship after they have sex. Kevin agrees to having a polyamorous relationship.
  • Season 7, Episode 4 "I Am a Storm" - Ian meets a charming activist named Trevor. Ian is interested in him and meets him out a club. While they're dancing Ian finds out Trevor is trans and has a really ignorant reaction. Ian apologizes and they spend the rest of the night out together.
  • Season 7, Episode 10 "Ride or Die" - Kevin and V end their polyamorous relationship with Svetana.
  • Season 7, Episode 11 "Happily Ever After" - Ian ghosts on Trevor to run away with his ex-BF, first love and escaped convict, Mickey. When they get to the Mexico border, Ian changes his mind and says goodbye to Mickey as he crosses the border.
  • Season 7, Episode 12 "Requiem for a Slut" - Ian confesses his encounter with Mickey to Trevor.
  • Season 8, Episode 1 "We Become What We... Frank!" - Ian tries winning Trevor back with no success. Fiona becomes a landlord and meets one of her tenants, Nessa, a cute lesbian with a cranky girlfriend named Mel.
  • Season 9 Episode 3 “Weirdo Gallagher Vortex” - Debbie starts hanging out with her new lesbian welder friend, Alex, the two of them make out.


This page was last edited on March 21st, 2021.
%d bloggers like this: